About OpenBRAS Community


OpenBRAS.org is an open source community led by China Telecom Guangzhou Research Institute. It aims to build an open and open source virtualized broadband access service platform to promote the implementation and application of SDN and NFV technologies in carrier edge networks.
In June 2017, China Telecom Guangzhou Research Institute and Intel, Inspur, Mellanox, Netronome, Panath, YunEx and other technical experts jointly created the OpenBRAS community. Their common goal is to promote the virtualization, generalization and microservices of the BRAS system. The realization of software and hardware decoupling, forwarding control separation, unified management vBRAS system architecture, driving upstream and downstream technology development, and ultimately forming a sound software and hardware supply ecosystem.
Currently, the OpenBRAS community provides several major industry vBRAS solutions, vBRAS reference source code and common testing tools. Among them, the solution mainly includes the architecture design of the clouded BRAS, the vBRAS end office deployment reference scheme and the vBRAS offloading scheme based on the intelligent network card. The reference source includes the PPPoE open source implementation (PPPoE using DPDK, RP-PPPoE) and the vBRAS implementation based on the transfer separation architecture (BRAS control plane, OpenBRAS forwarding plane based on intelligent network card, OpenBRAS forwarding plane based on DPDK). The OpenBRAS community will continue to improve the core code, enrich the BRAS functionality and connotation, expand the application of the Central Office end office and future edge computing platform, and promote the commercialization and commercialization of vBRAS.
The OpenBRAS Community Committee is composed of community sponsors such as China Telecom Guangzhou Research Institute and Intel Corporation. The community committee members are the main defenders of the community, including the technical committee and the operation committee. Participants in the community mainly include developers and end users. Community developers include three types of roles: maintainers, contributors, and submitters. End users can provide technical and strategic guidance to community committees in an advisory role. The community's contribution model is based on industry technologists and encourages new contributors and communities to participate at all levels. The community encourages any organization and individual to contribute and can be a contributor to contribute to the community. The organizational structure of the OpenBRAS community is shown below:






Contact

info@openbras.org.cn



Technical Group

tech-group@openbras.org.cn

社区简介

OpenBRAS.org是中国电信广州研究院主导的开源社区,旨在构建一个开放、开源的虚拟化宽带接入服务平台,推动SDN和NFV技术在运营商边缘网络的创新实施和应用落地。


2017年6月,中国电信广州研究院联合Intel,Inspur,Mellanox,Netronome,Panath,YunEx等公司的技术专家共同创建了OpenBRAS社区,他们的共同目标是推动BRAS系统的虚拟化、通用化和微服务化,实现软硬件解耦、转发控制分离、管理面统一的vBRAS系统架构,带动上下游技术发展,最终形成完善的软硬件供应生态。

目前,OpenBRAS社区提供了几大业界主流vBRAS解决方案、vBRAS参考源码和常用测试工具。其中,解决方案主要包括转控分离的云化BRAS的架构设计、vBRAS端局部署参考方案以及基于智能网卡的vBRAS offloading方案。参考源码包括转控一体的PPPoE开源实现(PPPoE using DPDK、RP-PPPoE)和基于转控分离架构的vBRAS实现(BRAS控制面、基于智能网卡的OpenBRAS转发面、基于DPDK的OpenBRAS转发面)。OpenBRAS社区将不断完善核心代码,丰富BRAS功能和内涵,扩展应用于Central Office端局和未来的边缘计算平台相关功能,推动vBRAS的产品化和商业化。

OpenBRAS社区委员会由中国电信广州研究院、Intel公司等社区发起者组成,社区委员会成员是社区的主要维护者,其中包括技术委员会和运营委员会。社区的参与方主要包括开发者和最终用户这两类。社区的开发者包含了维护者,贡献者以及递交者等三类角色。最终用户可以以咨询角色为社区委员会提供技术和战略指导。社区的贡献模型是基于行业技术专家,并鼓励新的贡献者和社区在各个层面都能参与进来。社区鼓励任何组织和个人做出贡献,并能成为递交者向社区贡献自己的力量。OpenBRAS社区的组织架构如下图所示:






联系我们

info@openbras.org.cn



技术开发组

tech-group@openbras.org.cn